New books

I’ve been on a book-buying and book-mooching spree lately; I’m not sure why, since I don’t need any more books and have distressingly little time to read (my summer class has begun and it’s intense), but when does that ever stop a book lover? Just today The Walker’s Literary Companion arrived in the mail, a book I’ve mentioned multiple times on this blog. I’m not sure I’ll read the entire thing, but it will be a good source of information on authors who write about walking for whenever I get in the mood to read about it.

Just the other day, Kate Sutherland’s book of short stories All In Together Girls arrived in the mail; I want to read at least one more collection of short stories this year, and this sounds like an excellent one — plus I’m looking forward to reading the work of a fellow blogger. I ordered it from Canada; the book will be available in the U.S. in August, but given the mood I’m in, I decided not to wait.

Geoff Dyer’s Out of Sheer Rage I received recently from a Book Moocher; it’s “the best book about not writing a book about D.H Lawrence ever written” according to Amazon. I really don’t care about D.H. Lawrence all that much, but a book about the struggles of writing a biography sounds like just my thing. Another interesting nonfiction book to arrive recently is Daniel Mendelsohn’s The Elusive Embrace: Desire and the Riddle of Identity, which is part memoir, part philosophical pondering, part literary criticism. It sounds like a great mix.

And I also mooched Stephen Dixon’s Gould; I’ve never read Dixon before, but lots of bloggers rave about him, so I thought I’d give him a try.

9 Comments

Filed under Books

9 responses to “New books

  1. hepzibah

    Today while I was working, I came across Eileen Chang’s book that you spoke about and I thought of you… I didn’t want to put it back on the shelf and it looks really good — would you suggest just buying the book?? I actually hate to give books back, if I paticulary enjoyed it…though as you said, I too do not need to buy anymore books (after buying at least 35 from the booksale) :) I have a Emerson book and a James Fenimore Cooper book to give to you and Hobgoblin….I got them for free, and I have no room for them…so I figured that they would be safe with you two :)

  2. I must get the Geoff Dyer, and Kate’s book of course. It’s out even later in the UK I think! Oh for more patience!

  3. *Sigh* You just reminded me that my order for “Out of Sheer Rage” has not come in. I wonder why it’s taking so long.

    But on the upside, I’m reading “The Ongoing Moment” – also by Geoff Dyer. I love the way he just riffs on a subject and you get all these random connections.

    He has this great quote by Dorothea Lange: “to know ahead of time what you’re looking for means you’re then only photographing your own preconceptions, which is very limiting.”

    Enjoy your books. :)

  4. That’s right, Stefanie :)

    Hepzibah, that’s a hard decision! I’m so inconsistent about this — I say I don’t need more books and more arrive all the time. I almost took a book from the “free reading” table at work, but then I thought that other people could probably use the books more than me … so I think buying the Chang book wouldn’t be a bad idea :) And thanks for the Emerson and Cooper books! They are definitely safe with us.

    Litlove, I’m so bad about being patient — quite a failure at it lately!

    Dark Orpheus, that’s a great quote; I think I’ll end up reading a lot of Dyer’s work, in the long run.

  5. Your book selections sound so interesting. I feel a bit of a splurge coming on so I hope to do some book buying soon. I have been mooching quite a bit and should be receiving four books soon. yay.

  6. Four books! Fun. And I still have quite a few points left over at Book Mooch — it’s hard to resist using them.

  7. I haven’t found anything worth mooching lately. The last thing I tried to mooch was denied as the person accidentally had listed the same book twice–my bad luck that I was the second person trying to mooch the title. And I never seem to get there in time for books that come up on my wishlist. How on earth do people manage to grab them so quickly??? Sounds like you have some interesting new books. Now you have more to look forward to even if you can’t read them right away!

  8. It does seem like people hang out on the computer all day waiting for popular books to appear in Book Mooch and then they grab them instantly. The few times I’ve put a popular book on the site, it’s gotten snapped up within seconds.

Leave a Reply

